Our Governors

Hanford has a skilled board of governors who play an important role in the running of the school. All governors are trustees of The Hanford School Charitable Trust Limited. They assist in the school’s governance, planning the school’s strategic objectives, safeguarding its financial health and ensuring we are compliant with all legal requirements.

The Governors bring invaluable experience and expertise and come from a variety of different backgrounds. A number of our Governors are serving Headteachers, others are professionals or members of the local community as well as parents. They work as volunteers and meet at least once a term. They are passionate advocates of Hanford and their support is invaluable often going beyond the remit of the role, attending events, acting as sounding boards for new ideas or bringing in fresh and innovative suggestions of their own. The governors input has a positive effect on the school environment and the learning experience of pupils.

Mr Andrew Hussey (Chairman)

Mrs Amelia Brooks

Mr Tom Dawson

Mr Phillip Evitt

Brig. Alex Potts

Mrs Annie Rainsford

Mr Martin Scott

Mrs Kate Saker

Mr Christophe Stourton

Dr Ruth Sullivan

Mrs Clare Witheridge

Contact with the Chair of Governors, Mr Andrew Hussey, can be made either directly:


or c/o the clerk: speersf@hanfordschool.co.uk

The School address is the registered office, and is the address at which the chair of governors can be contacted.


Finance and General Purposes Committee
Chair: Alex Potts
Andrew Hussey
Kate Saker
Christophe Stourton
Rory Johnston (Headmaster)

Education Committee
Chair: Phillip Evitt
Mr Tom Dawson
Dr Ruth Sullivan
Clare Witheridge
Rory Johnston (Headmaster)
Carrie Lewis (Director of Studies)

Nominations & Governance Committee
Chair: Clare Witheridge
Annie Rainsford


Governor with Responsibility for Child Protection & Boarding Welfare
Kate Saker / All Governors

Governor with Responsibility for Health & Safety/Risk
Brig. Alex Potts / All Governors

Governor with Responsibility for Marketing
Amelia Brooks

Governor with Responsibility for Fundraising
Andrew Hussey

Governors with Responsibility for Nominations & Governance
Clare Witheridge
Annie Rainsford

Governor Biographies


Andrew worked for thirty-five years in various roles in the insurance industry in London. He remains a non-executive director of an insurance analysis business. He is a former chairman of the Turf Club. He has four grown up children and lives in North Dorset with his wife, a Labrador and a Norfolk terrier.


Amelia, nee Enderby, grew up in Dorset and Northumberland and was educated at Hanford before moving on to Sherborne Girls. She read Russian at Durham then worked at Bloomberg for 15 years. She is now the Headmaster’s Wife and Marketing & Communications Manager at Brambletye, a co-ed Sussex prep school. Amelia has 3 children, all of whom are at Brambletye.  She says that summer terms and early morning rides at Hanford form some of her very favourite childhood memories.


Tom was educated at Eton and went on to read Modern Languages at Edinburgh University, prior to completing a PGCE at Bristol University.  He taught modern languages at Harrow before moving to Sunningdale School in 2002, fulfilling various roles until taking over as Headmaster in 2005.  He is also a Governor at Brambletye. Tom is married to Elisabeth and they have a son and a daughter.


Phillip read History at Cambridge before taking a PGCE at the Cambridge University Education Department. He taught History and English at Monmouth School from 1982 to 1985, where he was also a Residential Boarding Tutor, then moved to Dulwich College. There he taught History, latterly as Head of Department and was a Middle School Day Housemaster until 1999, when he became Head of Highfield.  He is married to Jo and they have four children. He is currently a Governor at King’s College School, Wimbledon.


Brigadier Alex Potts is a serving Army officer and is married to Anna, an ex-Hanford Governor. Their three daughters are Hanford girls, past and present. His military service has taken him on numerous operations and to various countries; most recently to Afghanistan in command of his regiment, The King’s Royal Hussars.  He commands fourteen recruit training regiments that are located across the UK with responsibilities for training up to 15000 regular and reserve recruits per annum.


Annie is currently European Counsel at ADM Capital and in particular the Cibus Fund which focuses on sustainable food production. Prior to that Annie was General Counsel at Motion Equity Partners (formerly Cognetas) and Bluefield Partners. Annie qualified as a lawyer at Ashurst in 2000 having studied law at Guildford Law School after reading Economics at Durham.


Kate (née Macdonald) is a Hanford Old Girl of the 1970’s. The combination of growing up on a farm in Somerset and a prep school education at Hanford instilled a love of life, people and friendships. She went on to Sherborne School for Girls then Bristol Polytechnic to read Spanish & French. After two years in London working in the South American marketing department at United Distillers, 20 years as an Army wife then followed. For the last 12 years she has been Private Secretary on a busyrural Estate in North Dorset managing events and dealing with all variety of people.


Martin is an accountant with over 25 years’ experience at board level with both private and public listed FT250 companies, including 18 years at Hall & Woodhouse Ltd the regional family brewer based in Blandford.  He is a Non-Executive Director for several business based in Dorset which interests range from recycling to IT security.  He has four children (three boys and one girl) all educated in Dorset school, the youngest attended Hanford for six years and has recently left Sherborne Girls.  He has lived in North Dorset for over 20 years along with his wife, dogs, horses and chickens.


Christophe has worked in business-to-business communications for over 25 years, founding and leading various companies including conference, film and video production companies operating globally.  Now in Dorset, establishing a Business specialising in Equine Facilitated Learning and Coaching, he is a current parent with the youngest of 3 children at Hanford (till 2017).  Both his wife and elder daughter are Hanford old girls.


Ruth was educated at City of London School for Girls and Sherborne Girls. She completed her BSc and PGCE at Edinburgh and has an MSc (Population and Health) and PhD (Epidemiology) from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.  Ruth has taught at St John’s School, Leatherhead; Glenalmond College, Perthshire; The Queen’s School, Chester and Haileybury College, Hertford.  She has taught Geography and Geology and been a Housemistress, Head of Department, Head of Sixth Form and Deputy Master. Ruth has travelled extensively throughout the world, often on foot or on bike, and competed in numerous marathons, half-ironman and ironman events.


Clare was at Hanford in the early 80s where she made some of her closest friends. She went on to Sherborne, and then Durham to read French, Italian & Theology. She has been working in marketing for over 20 years and was Head of Marketing at Lacoste UK for 10 years and on the Board of Directors for 5 years.  She now works with her twin sister, Ann Witheridge, running the Marketing and Business Development at London Fine Art Studios. She lives in West Sussex with her 3 children.